Making Progress

Again, I decided to use my template…

Goal: Keep up with my blogging. I’m pretty much on track. Instead of starting a new blog about menopause, I’ve decided to post about it on my other sites from time to time. Thursdays free2soar post reads as follows:

Responsibilities – Numerous

Ambition – Non-existent

Menopause – Today’s winner

Goal: Work on Deb’s book five days per week. This goal has been slightly revised. Deb and I have set up phone meetings. We have developed a new list of priorities, and it’s all getting very exciting. It is my goal to get the book proposal ready by September 9. When this book gets picked up by an agent and/or a publisher, you’ll be able to hear us cheering no matter where you live.

Goal: Read through a manuscript I will be editing. I’ve completed the read-through. I intend to give the author a call within the next two weeks to discuss how she wants me to go about the editing. Before that, I want to come up with several angles that would make great magazine articles so we have an option if she decides not to go ahead with it in book form.

Goal: Research and write an article I’m working on. This has proven more challenging than I thought. I want it to be more than a copy and paste kind of thing. I hope to have at least the first solid draft (perhaps the final draft) done by the end of the day.

Goal: Write my essay and research paper for my doula certification. If I devote a couple of days to the essay and three to the research paper, I should be able to get them done in short order. I have set the end of September as my new deadline. Not much change here…except I’m on track for the required reading. I would like to have almost all – if not all – of the requirements for certification done by the end of the year.

Goal: Encourage at least five ROWers each week. This past week was a good one. I’ll try to keep it up.

Goal: Figure out what we ROWers can do to celebrate when this round is done. Maybe we can have one final check-in the week after this round so we can share with one another what we did to celebrate. It’s not the same as celebrating together, but it’s something.

Have a wonderfully productive week, all.

18 thoughts on “Making Progress

    • Funny the paradox…Social media can distract us from our writing. On the other hand, it can build relationships that 1) challenge us to keep writing and 2) connect us with people who can get our writing “out there.” Would that we could master this whole juggling act.

      • Strangely, my wife and I just discussed this topic earlier today. We need platform to get our work out there but it is such a massive time sink that it infringes on writing time. No writing equals no product and no need for a platform. The lucky solution is that many writers are also introverts, which should keep us from becoming drones to the social media platforms and drive us to our writing to recover 🙂

      • Talk about a vicious cycle, huh?
        Introverts? Oops, I must have missed that memo. When I mentioned at a dinner party that I had friends all over the world because of the Internet, one of the other guests asked, “Who needs them?” I must say I showed great restraint – and tremendous respect for our hostess – by not popping the other lady in the nose. *grin* OK, so I’d never do that, but I’ve made some amazing friends via the Web, friends I need.
        Anyhoo, all the best with this week’s goals.
        TTFN

  1. oh doula certification, how awesome! I like the idea of a group celebration too though I have little to celebrate other than just being alive to the end (hopefully, that’ll still be true iin 3.5 weeks)

    • Thanks for popping by. I just love e-visits.
      Being alive is definitely something to celebrate.
      Keep on plugging with your writing goals – and the whole staying alive thing too.

  2. When this round of words is over, I will be on a Hurtigruten ship sailing along the fjords, so I probably won’t be able to do any kind of group celebration. Too bad. *g*

    Great progress. Keep up the good work!

    • Thank you for the encouragement, Ruth. And enjoy sailing along the fjords. That sounds amazing. My dad always loved Norway. He was stationed there after WWII.

  3. I LOVE the idea of a group celebration… though I do think we should all set a coordinated time and raise glasses of champagne, possibly via a hangout on Google+. 😀

    Great job on your progress, and I love how detailed you are with your goals. Definitely makes things easier to measure. 😀

  4. I love the idea of “celebrating” the week after. The best part of ROW80 is how we celebrate each other all the way through, so your idea seems the perfect ending or better yet, the perfect inspiration to keep going!

Leave a Reply

